South Mississippi State Hospital
823 Highway 589, Purvis, Mississippi
601-794-0100 • (601) 794-0210 (FAX)
Respect • Compassion • Professionalism • Education • Teamwork • Trust • Communication

Friends of SMSH

Friends of South Mississippi State Hospital is a volunteer-based, nonprofit organization dedicated to promoting understanding of mental health and the needs of individuals with mental illness, improving the quality of life for patients, and providing recognition and support for employees.

What Friends of SMSH Pays For:

Friends sponsors service awards and other incentives for employees, including:

  • Two free meals in the employee cafeteria for all new employees
  • One-year service pins
  • Five-year service pins and SMSH tote bag
  • Ten-year service pins and SMSH embossed mini portfolio
  • $25 Wal-Mart gift card for monthly No Call-In drawing
  • $100 award for Employee of the Quarter
  • $250 award for Employee of the year
  • Employee of the Year plaque
  • Employee of the Quarter and Year wall plaques in SMSH dining room
  • Other employee incentive-related supplies and materials such as certificate folders, etc.




 For patients, Friends provides the funding for long distance phone calls to their families, bus tickets upon discharge, Christmas party expenses and gifts, a summer watermelon party, and other miscellaneous expenses.

Friends also sponsors special events that occur at SMSH, such as the Friends Annual Meeting, Employee Appreciation Day, refreshments for fundraisers, and gifts for volunteers.


Membership Levels

In-Kind Contributions

Jade $50
Onyx $100
Opal $200
Pearl $300 and above

Employee Donations (above $10)

Emerald $2.50 per pay period
Ruby $4.60 per pay period
Sapphire $8.75 per pay period
Diamond $12.50+ per pay period

Annual Corporate Sponsorships

Platinum (3 representatives) $200+
Gold (2 representatives) $100+
Silver (1 representative) $50+


Membership is made up of individuals from the hospital staff, members of civic and service groups, and individuals from the community. 

Anyone who is interested in serving as an advocate for individuals with mental illness can be a member. Annual membership fees are $10.00.

Click HERE to download an application to join Friends of South Mississippi State Hospital.

The application for Corporate Sponsorship can be found HERE.

Friends of SMSH, Inc. is classified as a public charity and is exempt from Federal income tax under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code. Contributions to Friends of SMSH are deductible under section 170 of the Code.

Friends of SMSH Board of Directors:

Position Held:
Wynona Wiley Community Volunteer President
Benny Prestridge Mississippi Power Company Vice-President
John Blanks Community Volunteer Immediate Past President
Debbie Thorn Community Bank  
Missy Gipson Hancock Bank  
Marvin Breazeale Community Volunteer  
Brown Ray SMSH 2011 Employee of the Year
Cindy Jackson SMSH 2012 Employee of the Year
Bill Coll Community Volunteer  
Joey Fillingane Mississippi State Senate  
Heath Grames University of Southern Mississippi  
Debbie Sinopoli Debbie Sinopoli & Associates Real Estate  
Greg Lowery Owens Business Machines  
Jeff Mayo Oak Grove Heating & Air  
Harold Myatt Community Volunteer  
Ed Felsher Community Volunteer  
Rev. Tim Prather Purvis United Methodist Church  
Clint Ashley SMSH Director Ex-Officio
Andy Tucker SMSH Fiscal Services Director Ex-Officio, Friends Treasurer
Donna Simmons SMSH Public Relations Director Ex-Officio, Friends Secretary
Mary Elizabeth Ray   Director Emeritus
Sharon Rainey   Director Emeritus
Sue Howell   Director Emeritus


Corporate Sponsors:

Platinum Sponsors: Breckenridge Park Apartments
  Exchange Club of Purvis
  Fred Hatten
  Harold Myatt
  Mississippi Power Company
  Oak Grove Heating & Air
  Terry-Tran Service Agency
  Jeff & Kathy Mayo
Gold Sponsors: Marvin & Betty Rose Breazeale
  Bill Coll
  Community Bank
  The First
  Hancock Bank
  Owens Business Machines
  Purvis Methodist Men
  Purvis Women's Club
  Debbie Sinopoli & Associates Real Estate
  Southern Development of Mississippi, Inc.
  Wynona Wiley
Silver Sponsors: AFLAC - Josh Cline Agency
  Speedy Printing


In-Kind Sponsors:

Pearl Level: Hattiesburg Coca-Cola
  Water Flow Productions


Friends of SMSH Employee Giving:

Diamond Level: Clint Ashley
  Misty Barrett
  Suzanne Cox
  Dr. Allen Harris
  Helen Little
  Charleen Melancon
  Brown Ray
  David Tillman
  Dr. Scott Willoughby
Sapphire Level: Kevin Childs
  Donna Simmons
  Dee Tingle
  Sabrina Young
Ruby Level: Joseph Anderson
  DeVon Byrd
  LaWanda Gregg
  Cindy Jackson
  Charity Lee
  Tulisa Manaway
Emerald Level: Melissa Love
  Jacob Bates
  Doug Boutwell
  Norma Brewer
  Torrel Bridges
  Pam Brinson
  Becky Carr
  Kimberly Chavis
  Debbie Dale
  Dawn Dobson
  Karl Hess
  James Hudson
  Arif Kamal
  Linda Osborn
  Kelly Reid
  Judy Sanderson
  Tommie Ware
  Kia Weston
General Membership: Mary Adams
  Tawana Bolton
  Sharon Brewer
  Zoe Burke
  Angela Chatman
  Angie Dillon
  Julius Ducksworth
  Jimmy Evans
  Demetria Griffin
  April Holder
  Cindy Hyden
  Robert Johnson
  Tonya Mills
  Samuel Newman
  Marvin Overstreet
  Mark Pendergrass
  Sharon Powell
  Eddie Tew
  Andy Tucker
  Stacy Vega
  Leanne Williamson
  Christy Youngblood